Up-and-Comers: Courage My Love

By Alyssa Buffenstein

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Picture this: it’s 2008, and post-hardcore sextet Chiodos records an album with Hayley Williams of Paramore.

As far as anyone can tell, that never actually happened. But for those intrigued by the notion, Canadian band Courage My Love has mastered the sound of the theoretical collaboration.

Self-described as the lovechild of Jimmy Eat World, Nine Inch Nails, Ellie Goulding and Brand New, the up-and-coming trio delivers melodic pop-punk with the occasional intrusion of a hardcore breakdown.

WSN talked to twin sisters Mercedes and Phoenix Arn-Horn, Courage My Love’s singer/guitarist and drummer, respectively, before their show at the Studio at Webster Hall on December 11, about their entry into the scene and current tour.

The sisters were ambitious early on, recording their first EP, “For Now,” when they were just 16 years old.

“We had never been on tour before, we were just about to sign a record deal…it was our first time in a big studio, so we were really excited about coming into this new world,” Mercedes said of the writing process.

“You can tell, on [“For Now”], because it’s all these really upbeat songs,” said Phoenix.

The novel buzz waning, their most recent EP, “Becoming,” reflects a maturation of the twins’ personalities and musical style, drawing inspiration from the transition from teenagerdom to adulthood.

“It’s a weird time period, because you don’t really know who you are,” said Phoenix.

“[‘Becoming’] is about growing, evolving, maturing—not really knowing where you’re headed, what you’re becoming, or what you’re going to do with your life,” added Mercedes.

What shows on the new EP is an independence and power necessary for a breakout band, especially one with two female members. Adding to the stress of growing up is the unfortunately inherent misogyny in the alternative music scene.

“I used to get kicked out of the backstage area. Security didn’t believe I was in a band, they thought I was a groupie. I was like, I don’t mean I’m with the band, I’m in the band,” said Mercedes.

“But on the other hand, I think being female twins brings a lot of people to our music. I feel like, if we were an all-male band, we’d have to work harder to get attention.”

But that’s not to say that the band doesn’t work hard—they prefer the D.I.Y. lifestyle. They even created the video for their song “Cold Blooded” completely on their own.

“We just got our cousins to film it, we had no budget,” said Mercedes. “I’m a big fan of the idea of earning your own way in life.”

Most would agree that the formula for success is little more than talent and a strong work ethic. With both of those ingredients down, the future looks promising for Courage My Love. They aim to release a debut full-length in 2014.

“I’m really excited to see what this year brings, because I feel like things are really picking up,” said Mercedes. “The momentum is building.”

Alyssa Buffenstein is a contributing writer. Email her at music@nyunews.com.

Leave a comment